Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.
New Zealand

The winners: 2023 Silver Scroll Awards announced

2023 APRA Silver Scroll Award winners The Beths
Photo: RNZ

New Zealand’s top songs for 2023 have been announced at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards with the song ‘Expert in a Dying Field’ performed by The Beths taking out the top song gong.

Held this evening at Spark Arena in Tāmaki Makaurau, it was a celebration of Aotearoa songwriters, composers, and award winners.

It was a long-awaited Silver Scroll win for the globally recognised indie rockers The Beths who have reached the Top 5 list many times now.

Their song ‘Expert in a Dying Field’ was among 20 tunes put forward to the New Zealand APRA membership (songwriters and composers) to decide who deserved the prize.

The Beths were unable to attend the awards as they are back on a lengthy tour across the US, but APRA were able to catch the band before they left to surprise them with the news of their win.

Lead vocalist and songwriter Liz Stokes said “We did it, we won. This means a lot, I really wanted one of these”.

“You never think you’re going to win the Scroll, I felt confident that it was a good song, and it was the best shot we’ve ever had. Winning the APRA Silver Scroll is extremely exciting, it means a lot to be alongside all these musicians on the trophy; they’re all so good and now we get to be on it as well. To be voted by other musicians is really special, so thank you to all the songwriters, thank you for your lovely votes”, Stokes said.

‘Expert In A Dying Field’ was performed at the awards, by Tāmaki Mākaurau experimental electronic songwriter and producer Samara Alofa with a 6-piece band.

Don McGlashan was celebrated tonight and welcomed into the NZ Music Hall of Fame | Te Whare Taonga Puoro o Aotearoa.

McGlashan has been specially recognised as a songwriter, advocate, and leader in the New Zealand music community who has reached across a broad spectrum of genres and musical spheres.

Music directors Steph Brown and Fen Ikner (aka LIPS) curated performances in honour of McGlashan: the legendary Mutton Birds song ‘The Heater’ was performed by Anna Coddington & The Appreciations featuring comedy dance ensemble DYNAMOTION; The Exploding Rainbow Orchestra and Vera Ellen paid tribute by performing ‘Andy’ by The Front Lawn; and the night was closed with a performance of ‘Tomorrow Night’, led by Jed Parsons.

Neo-soul artist Mohi Allen took home the 2023 APRA Maioha Award tonight for his heartfelt waiata ‘Me Pēhea Rā’ co-written with Hēmi Kelly, Amy Boroevich (HINA), and produced by Noema Te Hau III.

Maioha Award winners at the 2023 Apra Silver Scroll Awards

Maioha Award winners at the 2023 Apra Silver Scroll Awards
Photo: RNZ

The waiata was created at the 2022 Reo Māori SongHubs, a songwriting camp curated by Bic Runga and Sir Tīmoti Karetu.

‘Me Pēhea Rā’ was performed tonight by Tāmaki Mākaurau’s MAJIC.

The SOUNZ Contemporary Award | Te Tohu Auaha was awarded to Victoria Kelly for her piece ‘Requiem’, arranged for soprano, tenor, choir and orchestra.

This audio is not downloadable due to copyright restrictions.

Multi-award-winning composer Karl Sölve Steven has scooped up another APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award | Tohu Pūmanawa for his work on The Subtle Art of Not Giving a #@%!.

The film is based on the bestselling book of the same name by Mark Manson.

APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award | Tohu Paerangi was awarded to Pōneke/Wellington-based composer Tom McLeod for his score on Blood, Sex and Royalty.

The event was opened with a welcome/mihi whakatau by Hātea Kapa Haka and hosted by Bella Kalolo and Mātai Smith.

Full list of finalists and winners:

APRA Silver Scroll Award | Kaitito Kaiaka

WINNER: ‘Expert in a Dying Field’ written by Elizabeth Stokes, Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair, Tristan Deck performed by The Beths (Carpark Music Publishing via Gaga Music)

‘Don’t Go Back’ written by Marlon Williams, Mark Perkins performed by Marlon Williams (Concord Music Publishing)

‘Friday Night @ The Liquor Store’ written by Tom Scott, Christopher James performed by Avantdale Bowling Club

‘Layla’ written by Ruban Nielson, Kody Nielson performed by Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Mushroom Music)

‘The Crab / Waterbaby’ written by Hollie Fullbrook performed by Tiny Ruins (Kobalt Music Publishing)

APRA Maioha Award | Tohu Maioha

WINNER: ‘Me Pēhea Rā’ written by Mohi Allen, Hēmi Kelly, Amy Boroevich, Noema Te Hau III, performed by MOHI

‘E Tama’ written by Hamiora Tuari, Ani Piki Tuari, Tame Tuari, Tatana Tuari, Matt Sadgrove, performed by Tuari Brothers

‘Raumati’ written by Jordyn Rapana translated by Te Kuru Dewes, performed by Jordyn with a Why

SOUNZ Contemporary Award | Te Tohu Auaha

WINNER: ‘Requiem’ by Victoria Kelly based on poetry by Bill Manhire, Sam Hunt, Ian Wedde, Chloe Honum & James K Baxter – for Soprano, Tenor, Choir and Orchestra

‘Mycelium’ by Nathaniel Otley, for Bass Flute, Trumpet, Percussion, Electric Guitar, Keyboard, Violin, Cello, and Contrabass

‘No ro hunu ake’ by Joshua Pearson, for choral ensemble

APRA Best Original Music In A Series Award | Tohu Paerangi

WINNER: Tom McLeod for Blood, Sex, & Royalty

Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper for The Gone

Claire Cowan for Under The Vines

APRA Best Original Music In A Film Award | Tohu Pūmanawa

WINNER: Karl Sölve Steven for The Subtle Art of Not Giving a #@%!

Mark Vanilau for A Boy Called Piano – The Story of Fa’amoana John Luafutu

Cam Ballantyne for Nude Tuesday

NZ Music Hall of Fame | Te Whare Taonga Puoro o Aotearoa inductee

Don McGlashan

https://www.rnz.co.nz/news/national/499418/the-winners-2023-silver-scroll-awards-announced The winners: 2023 Silver Scroll Awards announced

Back to top button