Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.
New Zealand

26 British-Indian Candidates, Spanning Kerala to Punjab, Achieve Electoral Success

In a historic verdict, UK voters saw the Keir Starmer-led Labour Party secure a landslide victory, ending the 14-year rule of Rishi Sunak’s Conservative Party. Despite Sunak’s loss, the British-Indian community celebrated as twenty-six Indian-origin candidates emerged victorious in the 2024 general election, a notable increase from the current 15 Indian-origin MPs in the House of Commons.

The election featured a record-breaking participation of 107 Indian-origin candidates. Notably, the Labour Party, under Starmer’s leadership, fielded a record number of Indian-origin candidates, marking a significant shift from past elections.

Here are some highlights of the British-Indian MPs elected from both the Conservative and Labour parties, representing diverse roots from Kerala to Punjab:

Conservative Party

  • Rishi Sunak retained his seat in Richmond and Northallerton.
  • Priti Patel held onto her seat in Witham, Essex.
  • Shivani Raja won Leicester East.
  • Suella Braverman secured Fareham and Waterlooville.
  • Gagan Mohindra was re-elected from South West Hertfordshire.
  • Claire Coutinho won East Surrey.

Labour Party

  • Kanishka Narayan became Wales’ first MP from a minority ethnic background, winning Cardiff.
  • Seema Malhotra retained Feltham and Heston.
  • Valerie Vaz secured Walsall and Bloxwich.
  • Nadia Whittome won Nottingham East.
  • Preet Kaur Gill was re-elected from Birmingham Edgbaston.
  • Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi kept his seat in Slough.
  • Sojan Joseph won in Ashford, Kent, becoming the first Keralite elected to the British Parliament.
  • Lisa Nandy retained Wigan.
  • Navendu Mishra secured Stockport.
  • Satvir Kaur won Southampton Test.

The Labour Party saw a significant number of newcomers among British-Indians elected, including Jas Athwal (Ilford South), Baggy Shanker (Derby South), Harpreet Uppal (Huddersfield), Warinder Juss (Wolverhampton West), Gurinder Josan (Smethwick), Sonia Kumar (Dudley), Sureena Brackenbridge (Wolverhampton North East), Kirith Entwistle (Bolton North East), and Jeevun Sandher (Loughborough).

Additionally, Munira Wilson of the Liberal Democrats reclaimed her Twickenham constituency, contributing to their substantial gains in the election.

These MPs, hailing from diverse backgrounds and constituencies, are set to take their seats in Parliament in the coming week, marking a significant representation for the British-Indian community in UK politics.

Back to top button