The golfer who created a notable moment at the New Zealand Open.
Shay Wools-Cobb hit two without realizing the second ball is there
At first, it looked like a missed shot when the camera next to Wools Cobb caught the ball bouncing just three yards away.
But another camera cut to another ball, which flew high in the air and landed near the green.
The Australian golfer, his caddy and those looking in the ropes were left completely baffled.
However, the Australian ace soon received some good news when he learned that the long shot was indeed his.
I quickly realized that the other ball must have been buried under or right next to the original.
Authorities were unable to detect it prior to the shot due to the incredibly tough lie, which consisted of tall grass.
There was even better news for Wools-Cobb, as the new rules saved him from penalties.
The new guidelines state that he intended to hit his actual ball, and would not be penalized for hitting another.
Fans were in awe of the unusual site, though some claimed to have experienced the same shock before.
one golf An avid fan tweeted:
Another post: “It’s common on the Irish Links course rough!”
And the third writes:
“His ball flew about 10 feet and the ball under him about 5 feet from the hole. It was the craziest thing I’ve ever seen on a course!”
However, Wools-Cobb finished tied for 26th, eight shots ahead of eventual winner and compatriot Brendan Jones.
https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/21609367/golf-shae-wools-cobb-new-zealand-open/ A strange optical illusion makes it look like the golfer is fluffing his shots, but can you figure out what really happened?